Book Review: Bountiful (True North #4, Brooklyn Brusiers #4.5) by Sarina Bowen

bountiful by sarina bowen

What’s this about?

No last names. No life stories. Nothing personal. Those were the rules Zara and some mystery vacationer Dave came up with during his month stay near her bar. It was supposed to be a summer fling. Casual. No strings attached. Things worked out perfectly until Dave left and Zara found those two blue lines. Two years later, and Zara is content with never finding Dave from Brooklyn. Until one day he walks into her coffee shop.

My Rating: 3/5

My Review:

This book contained one of my least favorite tropes, but the book handled it well. I thought adding in the hockey player thing would make me like it more (I was on a hockey romance kick earlier this year), but it didn’t. Oh well.

This is my least favorite book of the series I’ve read so far (I’ve read books 1-4 & 7). I miss the Shipleys who only had very very minor roles. Jude and Zach were minor characters prior to their respective books, but I fell in love with both of them from day one. I knew I would like Zara after Bittersweet, but it’s hard to make me love a book that has a trope I hate.

I wanted more interactions with each main character’s friends. I do love how Zara is comfortable with how sexually active she is and how Dave does zero slut shaming for it!

I was wondering why did Dave/David’s pov label swapped? Was this a conscious choice where when it was “David” he acted more one way than he did under a “Dave” pov? Or just an accident?

I do wish when they reconciled that they had some discussion in stds since Dave slept around during the two year gap.

Content Warnings and Trigger Warnings: alcohol consumption, mentions of overdosed and child abuse, emesis,

Leave a comment