Book Review: Wall (Steel Bones Motorcycle Club #4.5) by Cate C. Wells

crying eating ice cream gif

I miss him, though, and late at night or when I’ve had a glass of wine too many, I wish I’d kept something. A shirt or a baseball cap. I could burn it in a bonfire. Make a fresh start.

Or so I could let myself be weak, just for a moment, and remind myself of how he smells.

What’s this about?

On a drunken night, Wall ruined his marriage. Four years later, Mona needs his help. Wall isn’t willing to let her go a second time.

My Rating: 4/5 stars

My Review:

OH MY GOD THIS BOOK HURTS 😭😭😭

I was literally crying the whole time I was reading this book.

Wall and Mona were high school sweethearts. After they got married, they started trying for a baby. Three miscarriages later, Wall gets drunk and cheats on Mona. They split. Four years later their paths cross again.

It happened a long time ago.

But my body thinks it’s happening now.

This book is a rough read. The cheating and miscarriages are talked about in detail. And are the center plot.

I absolutely loved this book. And I usually hate second chance romances and cheating so…..idk why I liked this one but I do! I haven’t read any of the other books in this series (and I don’t think I needed to since this takes place before the first book in the series?). And now I’m curious about the others in the club!

The awful pain that’d gotten dull these past few weeks flashes hot and sharp in my brain. What if it never goes away? What if somehow John and I stay together, and every night he’s a few minutes late, I still feel this way?

I do wish the book was a full length novel. Wall and Mona never had a deep talk about trust. They never really addressed the core issues of their relationship. I also didn’t like how he fucked a bunch of women after cheating on his wife. Idk. I feel like if he was truly remorseful he wouldn’t have sought after the same comforts he did the last time he was hurting. Also who the fuck knows if he even used a condom every time. I’m worried ten years from now some old ONS will show up with his long lost kid and that would fuck Mona up a lot.

I needed Wall to do more to regain Mona’s trust than just text her where he is and give her access to his phone. He didn’t have an affair. He had a ONS after telling his wife exactly where he was going to be. How is he going to prevent it from happening again? Especially when the same temptations are around him all the time. Also he didn’t tell Mona all of the details she wanted about that night. If reconciliation is the goal, he needs to have full transparency.

I hate how John didn’t seem to do anything to truly reestablish her trust. Especially after the final chapter before the epilogue.

The struggles of having a novella sized books instead of a full length novel I supposed 🙄

All in all: if you want to read a book that H U R T S and makes you cry then I highly recommend this one!

Content Warnings and Trigger Warnings: cheating, miscarriages, alcohol consumption, mentions of drug use/abuse, violence

Leave a comment